Report an Injury
As an employer, you are required to report any and all injuries to your workers' compensation carrier as mandated by the State of Rhode Island (Compliance Information).
By law, the report shall be made within 10 days after the injury, or, if the incapacity is due to an occupational disease, then within 10 days after the incapacity is known to the employer. In the case of an immediate fatality, the report shall be made within 48 hours after it occurs or becomes known to the employer.
Online Claim Reporting - First Notice of Loss (FNOL)
The Beacon Mutual Insurance Company provides you with the ability to report your claims online 24/7, when it is convenient for you. With Online Claim Reporting you will receive immediate confirmation with the claim number and the claim representative’s name, phone number and email address.
Policyholders need to log into BEACONNECT to report an injury online.
Once logged in, click the My Business pull-down menu and select: Report an Injury.
By using this service, Beacon will automatically file the First Notice of Loss (FNOL) with the Rhode Island Department of Labor & Training and will send a copy to your agent.
Click here to access A Guide to Online Claim Reporting, and a list of claim forms including the:
Job Requirements (Regular & Modified Duty) form.
In addition to Online Claim Reporting you can also report a claim by phone, email, fax, or mail. Please have the following information readily available when reporting a claim:
Beacon Mutual has 24/7 toll-free claim reporting capabilities. Call 1-888-886-4450 to report an injury directly to a Beacon representative. If your call is made during regular business hours (7:45 a.m. to 5:00 p.m.), you will immediately be provided with the claim number. Beacon will send the First Report of Injury to you, the Department of Labor and your agent.
By Email, Fax or Mail
If you choose, you can complete a written first report of injury and either mail it to Beacon's Claims Department at One Beacon Centre, Warwick, RI 02886 or fax it to the Claims Department at 401-825-2882. Click here to access the First Report of Injury (PDF form) located in the Claims Forms list. Please fill out this form in its entirety. When using this option, please remember it is your responsibility to send a copy to the Department of Labor and to your agent. To email us a copy, send the form to: firstname.lastname@example.org